unas council

   2014 | UNAS council
Prof. Nelson Sewankambo
Vice President
Prof. Patrick R. Rubaihayo
Prof. Edward K. Kirumira
Secretary General
Prof. Justine Epelu Opio
Council Member
Prof. Julius K. Zake
Council Member
Prof. Fredrick Kayanja
Council Member
Prof. Livingstone Luboobi
Council Member
Prof. David Bakibinga
Council Member
Prof. Mary J. N Okwakol
Council Member
Prof. Elly Sabiiti
Council Member
Prof. John Robert Tabuti

fellows and members

A Ugandan physician, academician, medical researcher and medical administrator. He is a Fellow of UNAS – FUNAS, and also an external affiliate of Institute of Medicine, USA. Currently he is the President of the Uganda National Academy of Sciences (UNAS); Professor of Medicine and Principal, Makerere University College of Health Sciences, with expertise in plant breeding, genetics, plant tissue and cell culture, biosafety/biosecurity/biopolicy and genomics.  More

garp launch

The Global Antibiotic Resistance Partnership (GARP) is an initiative of the Center for Disease Dynamics, Economics and Policy (CDDEP). This is a not for profit organization that conducts independent research. The program began in 2009 to address the challenge of antibiotic resistance in low- and middle- income countries.GARP working groups are country -led with guidance and collaboration from CDDEP. Research and policy directions are driven by local data,   More

amasa 10

The US NAS in collaboration with several African Academies and funded by the Gates Foundation set up a program – The African Science Academy Development Initiative (ASADI). ASADI directly engages the best African scientists through the African science academies in building their capacity to provide independent, evidence-based advice to their governments and nations on all matters related to science and technology.  More